Hands Free Laws

Almost all U.S. states have laws limiting drivers’ cellphone use. Various laws in the United States regulate the use of mobile phones and other electronics by motorists. Different states take different approaches. Some laws affect only novice drivers or commercial drivers, while some laws affect all drivers. Some laws target handheld devices only, while other laws affect both handheld and handsfree devices.

The laws regulating driving (or distracted driving) may be subject to primary enforcement or secondary enforcement by state, county or local authorities All State-level cell phone use laws in the United States are of the primary enforcement type—meaning an officer may cite a driver for using a hand-held cell phone without any other traffic offense having taken place—except in some cases involving newer (or “novice”), drivers. In the case of secondary enforcement, a police officer may only stop or cite a driver for a cell phone use violation if the driver has committed another primary violation (such as speeding, failure to stop, etc.) at the same time.

Texting and Driving Fines by State

Maximum Fines for First-Time Offenders

No state bans all cell phone use for all drivers. However, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia (plus Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands) prohibit all drivers from using hand-held cell phones while driving. Thirty-six states and Washington, D.C. ban all cell phone use by newer drivers, while 19 states and Washington, D.C. prohibit any cell phone use by school bus drivers if children are present.

Distracted Driving Law by State

Updated September 2019

Alabama

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

16, or 17 with Intermediate License for less than 6 months. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Alaska

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Arizona

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law. (Warning period in effect through 01/01/2021)

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Yes, for instruction and intermediate permit holders under 18. Secondary Law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Arkansas

Hand-Held Ban?

Drivers 18-20 years old. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Secondary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

*Note: Arkansas also bans the use of hand-held cell phones while driving in a school zone or in a highway construction zone. This law is secondarily enforced.

California

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Secondary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Colorado

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Connecticut

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Delaware

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate licence. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

District of Columbia

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner’s permit. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Florida

Hand-Held Ban?

School and work zones only. Primary law. (eff. 10/1/19)

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law. (eff. 10/1/19)

Georgia

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary Law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Guam

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Hawaii

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Idaho

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Illinois

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 19. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Indiana

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 21. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Iowa

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers with restricted or intermediate license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Kansas

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Kentucky

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Louisiana

Hand-Held Ban?

Drivers with learner or intermediate license, regardless of age.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers within first year of licensure. Primary law for drivers under 18.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Maine

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Maryland

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Massachusetts

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Michigan

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers with Level 1 or Level 2 license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Minnesota

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law. (eff. 8/1/2019)

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18 with learner or provisional licenses. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Mississippi

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Missouri

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

For drivers 21 and under. Primary law.

Montana

No bans on hand-held use, cell phone use, or text messaging for any drivers.

Nebraska

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18 with learner or intermediate license. Secondary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Secondary law.

Nevada

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

New Hampshire

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

New Jersey

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

New Mexico

Hand-Held Ban?

In State vehicles.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or provisional license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

New York

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

North Carolina

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

North Dakota

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Ohio

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Oklahoma

Hand-Held Ban?

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Oregon

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Pennsylvania

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Puerto Rico

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Rhode Island

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

South Carolina

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

South Dakota

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Secondary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Secondary law.

Tennessee

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers, while vehicle is in motion. Primary law.

Texas

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes, when passengers are 17 and under. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

*Note: Texas has banned the use of hand-held phones in school zones.

Utah

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Vermont

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Virgin Islands

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Virginia

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Secondary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Washington

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

West Virginia

Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18 with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Wisconsin

Hand-Held Ban?

No, except in work zones.

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Wyoming

Hand-Held Ban?

No

All Cell Phone Ban?

School Bus Drivers

No

Novice Drivers

No

Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Bluetooth Headset Options

Poly Logo

Plantronics VOYAGER 6200 UC – BLACK

Plantronics Voyager 6200 UC USB-C Sand

Plantronics 8200 UC White Bluetooth Headset

Plantronics Voyager 8200 UC Black Bluetooth Headset

Plantronics Voyager 4220 USB-C

Plantronics Voyager 3200 UC Headset

Plantronics Voyager 4210 USB-A

Plantronics Voyager 5200 UC Bluetooth Headset Bundle

Jabra EVOLVE 65e UC Earset

Jabra Evolve 65e MS

Jabra Evolve 65T – UC

Jabra Evolve 65T – MS

Jabra Evolve 75e MS & Link 370 Headset

Jabra Evolve 75e UC & Link 370 Headset

Jabra Motion UC Bluetooth Wireless Headset

Jabra Motion UC MS USB Wireless Headset

Jabra Stealth UC Bluetooth Headset

Jabra Stealth UC MS

BlueParrott B550-XT

BlueParrott C300-XT

BlueParrott C400-XT

VXi BlueParrot B450-XT with USB Charging

BlueParrott B350-XT

Sennheiser MB 360 UC Bluetooth Headset

Sennheiser Mobile Business MB 660 UC MS Headset

Sennheiser Presence Grey UC Headset

Sennheiser Presence Business

Sennheiser 506041 MB Pro 1

Sennhesier MB Pro 1 UC ML Bluetooth Headset